Self-Motivate!

By Jacquelyn L. McDaniel, The Urban Educator (April 2017)

To bring anything into your life,…

imagine that it’s already there.

DREAM/JOURNAL ENTRY (April 26, 2017)  Each morning my students and I begin our instructional day with a motivational quote and video before we GoNoodle.  After analyzing and dialoguing about the meaning behind the quote and the examples, students and I draw pictures or write text related to the quote.

Today they were asked to communicate via words or pictures, “What things to you want in your life

     “I want to work at McDonald’s, maybe they’ll let me work fries!”

Image result for hsbcu degree      “I want a college degree!”

Image result for urban kids learning in school      “I want to do better in school!”

giphy10      “I want a Bugatti!”

Image result for house in malibu on the beach      “I want a house by the beach!”

Image result for urban kid as friends“I want a friend who likes me for me!”

These are just a few of the statements my student’s verbally shared while completing this task.  Sam, who you meet in a series I am penning entitled,  SBAC CHRONICLES (Volume 1) made one of the statements.

After reading Volume 1, can you guess which statement was made by Sarcastic Sam, who was the catalyst for finally beginning the series? Was he being sarcastic or serious?

Urban Educators Motivate!

What type of motivational activities to you do with your child, student, or family?

 

Like, Share, Dialogue, and Apply…

   so that you may...

Engage, Empower, and Emancipate!

by Jacquelyn McDaniel

 

Leave a Reply

